Tenerife Canary Islands Spain

Atop El Teide

Tenerife (Spanish pronunciation: [teneˈɾife] 4 syllables) is the largest of the seven Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean 70 miles off the coast of Morocco. Tenerife has an area of 785 square miles and is the most populated island with 900k inhabitants. About five million tourists visit Tenerife yearly. While driving on this island one may notice the “Canaries libre” graffiti supporting the separation of the islands from the mother country of Spain. Between 1833 and 1927 Santa Cruz de Tenerife was the sole capital of the Canary Islands, until in 1927 a decree ordered shared capital status with Las Palmas, as it remains today. (more…)